Photo Credit - CPL T20

CPL 2020

The first CPL 2020, T20 league between Corona virus has begun. The Caribbean Premier League ie CPL started in the West Indies from Tuesday.

The first match of the CPL was played in Brian Lara Steyim between the Trinbago Knight Riders and the Guyana Amazon Warriors, with the Trinbago team winning.

The first match of the CPL was interrupted due to rain and the match had to be 17–17 overs. Playing first, the Guyana Amazon Warriors scored 144 for 5, Trinbago’s team achieved the target by losing 6 wickets in the 17th over.

Earlier, Captain Kirron Pollard of Trinbago Knight Riders decided to bowl after winning the toss. The Guyana Amazon Warriors did not start well while batting first and by 23 runs their 2 wickets had fallen.

Ross Taylor and Shimron Hetmyer then led the innings. Both batsmen shared a 50-run partnership for the second wicket. Taylor scored 33 off 21 balls.

Nicholas Pooran scored 18 runs off 16 balls and Chemo Paul remained unbeaten on 15 off 10 balls. However, Hetmyer remained at one end and scored an unbeaten 63 off 44 balls to give the team a strong score. Sunil Narine took the most 2 wickets for Trinbago.

Sunil Narine’s tremendous performance in the first match of CPL

Trying to chase down, Trinbago got the first blow as Lendl Simmons on a score of 22. However, Sunil Narine’s innings of 50 runs with the help of 2 fours and 4 sixes off just 28 balls laid the foundation of the team’s victory.

After this, Colin Munro scored 17 off 7 balls and Darren Bravo scored 30 runs off 27 balls to reach the target in 16.4 overs. Sunil Narine was adjudged Man of the Match for his all-round performance in the first match of CPL 2020.

Short score

Guyana Amazon Warriors - 144/5 (Shimron Hetmyer 63 *, Ross Taylor 33, Sunir Narine 2/19)
Trinbago Knight Riders - 147/6 (Sunil Narine 50, Naveen Ul Haq 2/21)

Check Out | Starsporthd for more news, profile, and biography of your favorite sports player!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here